Home > Windows Server 2008 > Unable to Create Windows 2008 Cluster: Parameter Name: domainName error

Unable to Create Windows 2008 Cluster: Parameter Name: domainName error

I had a very interesting set of errors while attempting to create a Windows 2008 Cluster.  During the Cluster creation, I received several different warnings that all appeared to be DNS and FQDN related.  When I added the NetBIOS Node names to the Create Cluster Wizard it would fail with Parameter Name: domainName error.  If I used the FQDN of the server I would get an access denied.  This something in AD or on the local host?
 
image
 
When I looked at my DNS server I found the two nodes did not register in AD DNS automatically, even though I had the Register DNS option selected under the NIC settings.
I then decided to look in the TCP\IP Registry settings on both nodes.
 
Several anomalies were found:
 
1.) Neither node had the Domain settings populated (Parameters) even though the machines were both added to AD.  (As I was also logged on as  a Domain Admin)
 
2.) I found an old entry under the Registered DNS Adapter setting.  I suspect this is from me deploying these machines from a template that is hosted in a VMWare environment.  It must have been carried over from the original server build.
 
image
 
Once I deleted this key, removed and re-added the machine to the domain, the machine and cluster installation began functioning as expected.  I also manually added the Domain and NV Domain settings….
 
The keys are located:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\Tcpip\Parameters\
Note: I have disabled IPv6 on this machine.
 
As always, be safe when removing or editing the registry.
image
image
 
 
I received some helpful information from this article. 
 

 

Categories: Windows Server 2008
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

